St. Leo’s HS Athletic Awards Dinner 1967

St. Leo’s H.S. Holds Athletic Awards Dinnerdinner.jpg

The annual Athletic Award Dinner of St. Leo’s High School was held recently at the Kozy K Lounge in Ashley. Atty. Bernard Podcasy was toastmaster and Frank Crossin was guest speaker. Leverne Tart presented the awards to the athletes. Shown are the athletes who receieved special awards and their coaches.

From Left to Right: Bernard Miskin, baseball coach; Stanley Chmura, best pitcher; James Cooney, outstanding athelet of the year and most hits in baseball; John Kasenchak, most cooperative player in basketball; Leverne Tart, who presented the awrds; Leonard Kratz, most aggressive baseball player; Robert Riley, most improved baseball player; John Mangan, most improved basketball player; James Murphy, highest batting average; Vince Brislin, basketball coach; Joseph Nealon, assistant baseball coach.

Other basketball awards were presented to: Thomas Rowley, John Hatten, Stephen Biernacki, Michael Moore, Peter Uzups, Bernand Miskin, Thomas Gaughan, Mike Vrobel, Michael Corrigan, Walter Moore, Stanley Chmura, John Rusak, Matthew Hughes and John Pisano.

Other baseball awards were presented to John Mangan, James Cefaly, Robert Woznock, Kevin Hooper, John Pisano, John Hricherson, John Herron, Bernand Mullen, Michael Wrobel, Thomas Gaughan, John Mitko, Matthew Hughes, Bernand Miskin, Joseph Cerski and Bernand Godleski.

Outstanding Athelete

The outstanding athelete award of the year was given to James Cooney. This award is donated each year by the American Legion and was presented by Mayor Patrick Cooney. Jackets were given to each of the senior athletes and sweaters to each of the senior cheerleaders. Charm bracelets were given to the other cheerleaders.

Senior cheerleaders are: Donna Karen Austin, Lenore Yourren, Nancy Gaffney, Sharon Boyle, Michelene Bilek, Molly Walsh and Theresa Gatusky. Other cheerleaders are Jackie Kovalchik, Elaine Temperine, Lucille Koneski, Rita Wegrzynowicz, Marcia Comitz, Kay Kenny, and Molly Gaughan. Managers Robert Woznock, John Mitko, Lenny Wegrzynowicz, Joseph Gagliardi, Steve Chapasko, Gary Kratz and Ed Fitsimmons also received gifts.

Retiring Officers

The retiring officers of the Booster Cluyb were commended for the outstanding work they have done in the past year in supporting the athletes, and the new officers of the club were installed.

Retiring officers are: president, Jude Schappert; vice president, Edward Daney; secretary Charles Mangan; treasurer, Harold Gaughan.

New officers are: president, Joseph Nealon; vice president, Dr. Stanley Muroski; secretary, Margie Nilon; treasurer, Harold Gaughan.

Peter Lombardelli was in charge of the installation. Invocation was given by Rev. Joseph T. Hammond and benediction was given by Rev. John Pender. A band played for dancing following the dinner.


Leave a Reply